Costume Cleaning 101


So, you’ve finally got that expensive costume which cost you a small fortune. It is delicately folded and placed in a fabric bag waiting for its’ first performance. When the occasion arrives to break in the new “cossie,” you have a fantastic show and the audience is just loving you. You pour your heart into the dancing and give it your all. . .including your sweat. You arrive home, remove your costume from the dance bag and take a whiff. Eeeeewwww. Perhaps it also smells like curry from the restaurant, or, smoke from the hookah pipes. Several performances later, bacteria are enjoying your beautiful purchase as much as you are. What do you do? It’s not as if these beaded, fringed and crystaled creations can be tossed into the machine. Over the past 10 years, I’ve received lots of tips and advice from my teachers and dance colleagues about how they tackle this issue. Here’s what I’ve got:

1. The Sun –
Apparently, a costume lining that spends time in direct sunlight can kill a lot of bacteria and remove odors. If you are concerned about color fading, be sure to cover any section of the costume that you want to protect. I generally use this for the inside of a bra, but the Winter months make this difficult. (Thanks to Andrea for this one…many years ago).

2. Sewing Socks –
A few of my costumes have socks stitched in (just a couple of stitches to hold them in place). Generally, it is one half of one sock in each bra cup so that I can remove it and wash it when it needs a cleaning. Sure, this will gradually lead to some small holes in the lining but for me, it is worth it to have something clean against my skin.

3. Febreeze it –
Personally speaking, I’m not entirely sure what Febreeze is or how it works so I don’t use it. I have friends who spray their costumes before/after a show and it does appear to freshen and remove odors.

4. Vodka and Lavender


This one is a bit strange but I’ve used it recently on a few costumes and was pleased with the results. Dab a few cotton balls with vodka and essential oil. Lavender or tea tree oil work best because of their natural antibiotic properties.  Again, this is best for a costume lining that has been soaked with sweat.

5. A Hot Shower –
No. . . not for your costume, for you! Take a long hot shower and let the bathroom fill with steam while your costume hangs nearby. This doesn’t so much “clean” it, but the process removes wrinkles and the fabric will absorb the far more pleasant smell of your shampoo. Of course, a steamer works just as well or better if you have one (I do not).

6. Velcro –
Similar concept to number 2 but a bit more professional than socks. I have to credit Noora (of www.Decotach.com) for her genius design of velcro lining in the bra cups on her hand-made original designs. I can remove the bra lining and wash it whenever it is needed.

7. A mild bath-

I admit that I was afraid to try this one so I used it on an “older” costume and had good results.  Please do spot testing before trying this.  These are tips that were shared with me by friends and colleagues, and I am not an expert in cleaning delicate fabrics.  I put a heavily fringed Sim Moda Evi in the tub with cool water and a drop of mild soap.  I swished it around a bit (saw the water turn a color that implied it gravely needed this cleaning …but without color fading), drained the water, and filled it again (just enough to cover the costume), until the water was clear.  I had to lay the costume flat for a few days, turning over a few times but WHAT a difference.  I will work up the courage to try it on one of my Bellas next.

8. Veil Stains –

Back in 2005, I was debuting a new veil at Mezzo Mezzo. It was an iridescent champagne-sage green color but very light and sheer. Someone brought a number of them from Japan and I purchased two because I loved the look and feel of them. During my veil piece, I was inspired to do all sorts of body wrap/sculptural veil work and got a huge lipstick stain in the middle of it. It is still there because I was too afraid to try any of the veil cleaning tips I’d received and steaming did nothing. It was too delicate for dry-cleaning. Recently, a student told me to try talcum powder and two damp wash cloths on either side of the veil. She said it draws out stains like this and somehow this bit of info eluded me until now.

No matter the cost of your costume, you want to protect your investment and arrive to a gig without smelling like a locker room. When your purchases run in the high triple or quadruple digits, the last thing anybody needs is a cleaning attempt gone awry. Spot test everything and if you find a good solution, please share it. Use these suggestions at your own risk. I’m sure there are many more tips than I have written here and I’d love to know about all of them.

 

Leave a comment