Teaching Bellydance for Psychosocial Development


Over the years I have enjoyed many milestones in my dance career. I remember the first time I performed a solo (with shaky thighs and dry throat), my first time with a live band, trading the beginner costumes for something custom-made, or teaching my first class. While I cherish these experiences, I can’t help but notice they are all about me. Now, however, I am a part of my students’ milestones and it’s just as rewarding as having my own. Of course I feel proud when my beginners learn to do a movement with correct form and I feel the joy of seeing students improve over time. It is, however, a new level of satisfaction to watch my advanced students blossom into confident performers.

Without getting too analytical, back in my days as a Psych major, I remember studying Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development. (Don’t worry, I’m going to make this relevant to bellydance). The 7th stage deals with adults who want to feel as though they are contributing something of value towards society. It doesn’t have to be in the form of parenting, but it should include offering guidance to the next generation and, if done successfully, the individual can better handle the challenges of the next phase. For me, that next phase is way off but I’m having fun knowing that stage 7 is pretty darn fun.

The point? Well, it’s comforting to know the level of satisfaction I can have from watching my students. As my career continues to evolve, the time will come that I cannot do splits, backbends, and whatever else youth affords me. Instead of thinking, “Oh well, I’ll just teach,” I am now aware that it’s possible to cry from watching my youngest student dance at Grisly Pear and WOW the audience. It makes me happy to think about last week when my advanced group danced with trays on their heads, in front of my professional peers and colleagues, and I held my breath the entire time because I was so invested in their dance. When they finished, I saw the sense of accomplishment on their faces and they did so well I had to run and hug each of them.

I don’t think every bellydancer needs to be a teacher and there are plenty of other ways to feel rewarded. For me, it was an eye opening week watching my gals at various venues in NYC and being so proud to call them my students. Of course, they have a lot more to learn (and so does their teacher), but I know it only gets better from here.

Congratulations to:
Khalila for her stellar live music debut at Grisly Pear
Sadiya for her sassy Saidi solo at JeBon
Alissa, Starlet and Zella for their pro-balancing skills at JeBon
Susan for being ready to take the next step and perform solo for the first time

Leave a comment